

Global Green Growth Institute 12th Session of the Assembly and 16th Session of the Council (Joint Session) October 26, 2023 | Hybrid Meeting

Decision on Electing Members to the Council for 2024-2025

The Assembly,

Recalling Articles 2 and 4 of the Agreement on the Establishment of the Global Green Growth Institute (Establishment Agreement), regarding the objectives and activities of the GGGI;

Recalling Article 7(5)(a) of the Establishment Agreement regarding the function of the Assembly to elect Members of the Council while taking into account the principle of rotation of Members of the Council;

Recalling Article 8(2) of the Establishment Agreement that the Council shall consist of no more than seventeen members, as follows: (a) five contributing members elected by the Assembly; (b) five participating members elected by the Assembly; (c) five Experts or Non-State Actors who can contribute substantially to the objectives of the GGGI, appointed by the Council; (d) the host country, which shall have a permanent seat on the Council; and (e) the Director-General without a voting right;

Recalling Article 3(a) and 3(b) of the Establishment Agreement regarding the definition of contributing member and participating member of GGGI;

Recalling Part X of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly [A/4/DC/2], adopted at the Fourth Session of the Assembly and Eighth Session of the Council (Joint Session) on November 19, 2015, regarding the election of Members of the Council;

Noting that Rules 51 and 52 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly include voting processes to fill one elective place and two or more elective places, if voting is necessary due to a consensus not being reached among Members;

Noting that the five Participating Member seats on the Council have all been filled for the term of 2023-2024 and do not need to be re-elected this year;

Elects the following Contributing Members to the Council for the term of 2024-2025:

- 1. Indonesia
- 2. Norway

/End

General Distribution

Annex

Membership Group	Member Country	Term
Contributing Members	Indonesia	2024-2025
	Norway	2024-2025
	Vacant	
	Vacant	
	Vacant	
Participating Members	Cote d'Ivoire	2023-2024
	Pakistan	2023-2024
	Peru	2023-2024
	Sri Lanka	2023-2024
	Uganda	2023-2024
Non-State Actor/Expert Members	Ban Ki-moon	2024-2025
	Boonam Shin	2023-2024
	Bambang Brodjonegoro	2024-2025
	Vacant	
	Vacant	
Host Country	Republic of Korea	Permanent
Director General	Frank Rijsberman	Permanent without voting right

Council Composition in 2024 following Elections