

Global Green Growth Institute

The Council September 4, 2018

Note on the Appointment of Experts and Non-State Actors to Serve on the Council for the Period January 1, 2019-December 31, 2020

Purpose

- 1. This note aims to provide Members with information in advance of the Eleventh Session of the Council in relation to the appointment of four (4) Experts or Non-State Actors to serve on the Council for the period January 1, 2019 December 31, 2020.
- 2. It should be noted that there is currently one (1) vacancy for an Expert/Non-State Actor that was not filled for the period January 1, 2017 December 1, 2018.
- 3. This note outlines (a) the formal basis regarding Experts/Non-State Actors to serve on the Council according to the Agreement on the Establishment of the GGGI ("Establishment Agreement") and the Rules of Procedure of the Council; (b) the status of the current Experts/Non-State Actor Member's terms of office; and (c) the Institute's actions to explore current Expert/Non-State Actor Member's interest to serve for a second term on the Council.

Expert and Non-State Actor Participation on the Council

- 4. Article 8(2) of the Establishment Agreement states that "The Council shall consist of no more than seventeen members, as follows:
 - a. five contributing members elected by the Assembly;
 - b. five participating members elected by the Assembly;
 - c. five experts or non-state actors who can contribute substantially to the objectives of the GGGI, appointed by the Council;
 - d. the host country, which shall have a permanent seat on the Council; and
 - e. the Director-General without a voting right".
- 5. Rule 5 of the Rules of Procedure of the Council [C/8/DC/2/FINAL] states,
 - a. Prospective Experts and Non-State Actors Members of the Council may be nominated by a member of the Council, including the Director-General, and shall be appointed by the Council in accordance with Article 8.2(c) of the Agreement.
 - b. Experts or Non-State Actors are in principle eligible to serve up to two (2) consecutive terms, unless otherwise decided by the Council.

Consistent with GGGI's Disclosure Policy [C/5/DC/2], this document will be disclosed on the GGGI Website upon its approval by the Council, and its classification will be changed from "For Official Use" to "General Distribution".

- 6. Rule 6 of the Rules of Procedure of the Council states, "Any candidate selected to serve as an Expert or Non-State Actor shall:
 - a. Be supportive of the objectives presented in Article 2 of the Agreement [on the Establishment of the GGGI].
 - b. Be in a position at the time of selection that is consistent with the term "Expert or Non-State Actor" (i.e., not hold a government position or be a representative of any state).
 - c. Be a recognized authority in a field of direct relevance to the accomplishment of the objectives of GGGI, and originate from one of five categories,
 - i. the business sector;
 - ii. cities/regions;
 - iii. the science community;
 - iv. finance/investor community; and
 - v. the environment community.
 - d. Have the capacity to present a viewpoint that enhances the breadth and depth of debate in the Council in executing its responsibilities as articulated in the Agreement.
 - e. Be willing and able to serve on the Council and participate in sessions of the Council and Sub-Committee meetings or other meetings of governance organs as may be necessary.

Status of the Current Experts and Non-State Actors

- 7. Currently, there are four (4) Expert/Non-State Actor Members of the Council, and their terms on the Council are for the period January 1, 2017 December 31, 2018 (table 1):
 - a. Ms. Inger Andersen, Director-General, International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN); and
 - b. Dr. Hoesung Lee, Chair, Inter-governmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC):
 - c. Mr. Mark Watts, Executive Director, C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group; and
 - d. Mr. Ban Ki-Moon¹, Former Secretary-General of the United Nations and President of the Assembly and Chair of the Council.
- 8. Dr. Hoesung Lee and Mr. Mark Watts are currently serving their second consecutive terms, and Ms. Inger Andersen and Mr. Ban Ki-Moon are serving their first terms on the Council.
- 9. In accordance with Rule 5(b) of the Rules of Procedure of the Council, Dr. Hoesung Lee and Mr. Mark Watts, currently serving their second consecutive terms, are not eligible for re-appointment.

Exploration of Expert and Non-State Actor's Interest to Serve on the Council

- 10. Ms. Inger Andersen, via a letter dated August 2, 2018, addressed to the Director-General, has expressed her availability and interest to continue to serve on the Council as Expert and Non-State Actor.
- 11. The Institute will convene informal discussions with Members of the Council prior to the Eleventh Session of the Council on October 31, 2018, to shortlist potential nominees and subsequently submit nominations for appointment to the Council.

¹Mr. Ban's term of office started on February 20, 2018 for a term of two-years [A/2018/DC/1]

Table 1. Expert and Non-State Actor Terms on the Council

Table 1. Expert and Non-State Actor Terms on the Council								
Expert / Non- State Actor	Organization and name	2012- 2013	2014	2015	2016	2017	2018	2019
Expert	Mr. Lars Løkke Rasmussen, former Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Denmark	Term 1						
Expert	Mr. Sang-hyup Kim, Senior Secretary to the President for Green Growth	Term 1						
Expert	Dr. Suh-Yong Chung, Professor, Division on International Studies, Korea University		Term 1					
Expert	Lord Nicholas Stern, IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government and Chair, London School of Economics	Term 1						
Expert	Dr. Montek Ahluwalia, former Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission, Government of India	Term 1	Ter	rm 2				
Expert	Dr. Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, former President of the Republic of Indonesia (2004-2014)			Term 1				
NSA Business Community	World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) - Mr. Peter Bakker, President and CEO			Term 1				
NSA Cities/Regions	C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group - Mr. Mark Watts, Executive Director			Ter	m 1	Term 2		
NSA Science Community	Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) - Dr. Hoesung Lee, Chair			Term 1		Term 2		
NSA Environment	International Union for the Conservation of Nature - Ms. Inger Andersen, Director General					Term 1		
Expert	Mr. Ban Ki-Moon, former Secretary-General of the United Nations						Ter	m 1

/End