Press Release

Mongolia and Rwanda Become Members of GGGI

SONGDO CITY, INCHEON – June 9, 2013 – Mongolia and the Republic of Rwanda became the 19th and 20th signatories of the Establishment Agreement of the Global Green Growth Institute at a signing ceremony in Songdo City, Incheon, Republic of Korea on the eve of the third annual Global Green Growth Summit. Both nations will have representation in the GGI Assembly and will be eligible to sit on the Council should they be elected to the position.

GGGI has previous ties to both Mongolia and Rwanda. In Mongolia, GGGI has been carrying out work in the transport and energy sectors and hopes to help the government in further developing their National Strategy on Green Development.

In Rwanda, GGGI has been assisting with urban and housing policies.  In particular, GGGI is helping the Rwanda Housing Authority in the developing of locally made resource-efficient building materials as wells as helping draw up the country’s first building code.

Sunday’s signing ceremony was held just after the third session of the GGGI Council. Dr. Sanjaasuren Oyun, Minister of Environment and Green Development, signed the Agreement on behalf of Mongolia. Representing Rwanda at the ceremony was H.E. Eugene Kayihura, Ambassador of the Republic of Rwanda to the Republic of Korea.

“Mongolia is very honored and pleased to join GGGI. Mongolia fully supports the vision of GGGI to integrate green growth and environmental sustainability,” Said Dr. Oyun. “Green growth is not only choice of matter but it is indeed essential for our common future.”

GGGI is an international organization dedicated to developing and diffusing a new paradigm of economic growth – green growth – which simultaneously balances economic performance and environmental sustainability. Headquartered in Seoul and founded in June 2010, GGGI works in long-term partnership with developing and emerging economies through rigorous green growth planning, research and public-private cooperation. In June 2012, 18 nations signed the GGGI Establishment Agreement, which formally defines and establishes the organization as international intergovernmental organization with an independent legal personality. Currently,GGGI’s Members are: Australia, Cambodia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Ethiopia, Guyana, Indonesia, Kiribati, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Mongolia, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, the United Arab Emirates, and the United Kingdom, and Vietnam.